1. A Book:
Author name. Title. City of publication: Publisher, Date of publication. Print.
Crystal, David. Language Play. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1998. Print.
2. eBook:
Author name. Title. City of Publication, Date of publication. Date of Access <URL>.
Euripides. The Trojan Women. New York: Oxford UP, 1915. 12 Oct. 2003.
<http:www.sacred-texts.com/cla/eurip/Trojan.htm>.
3. An entire website:
Author/editor/compiler/director/etc. name (if available) OR Association Name.
Title of Website. Publisher (or N.p.), date of publication (or n.d.). Web. Date of
access.
Bernstein, Charles, Kenneth Goldsmith, Martin Spinelli, and Patrick Durgin, eds.
Electronic Poetry Corner. SUNY Buffalo, 2003. Web. 14 Sept. 2006.
4. A page on a website:
Author/editor/compiler/director/etc. name (if available). “Title of page.” Title of
Website. Publisher (or N.p.), date of publication (or N.d.). Web. Date of
access.
“Hands Off Public Broadcasting.” Media Matters for America. Media Matters for
America, 24 May 2005. Web. 31 May 2005.
5. Article from a journal accessed through a database subscription
(ex: Ebsco):
Author name. “Article Title.” Journal Title volume.issue (Date of publication): page
numbers (or n. pag.). Name of Database. Web. Date of access.
Gallagher, Brian. “Greta Garbo is Sad: Some Historical Reflections on the
Paradoxes of Stardom in the American Film Industry, 1910-1960.” Ebsco
Host (1997): n. pag. Web. 7 Aug. 2003.
6. Article published directly for a database subscription (ABC-CLIO):
Last, First M. "Article Title." Database Name. Database Publisher, Date
Month Year Published. Web. Date Month Year Accessed.
Jones, Arthur. "Homestead Act (Overview)." American History.
2014. Web. 27 May 2014.
7. Excerpt from an online reference book in a database:
Author (if available). “Title of entry.” Name of Reference Book. Publisher, Date
of Publication. Name of Database. Web. Date of Access.
“Tour de France” Encyclopedia Britannica Online. Encyclopedia Britannica,
2006. Web. 21 May 2006.
8. Gale Virtual Reference Library
Author (if available). “Title of entry.” Name of Reference Book. Editors. Volume.
Place of publication: Publisher, Date of Publication. Gale Virtual Reference
Library. Page numbers. Web. Date of Access.
"Important Events in Literature." Arts and Humanities Through the Eras. Ed.
Edward I. Bleiberg, et al. Vol. 1: Ancient Egypt 2675-332 B.C.E. Detroit:
Gale, 2005. 112-113. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 17 Oct. 2013.
9. Personal Interview:
Person Interviewed. Personal Interview. Date.
Freedman, Sasha. Personal Interview. 10 Nov. 1998.
10. Image from the web:
Artist name. Title of Work. Date of creation. Institution where housed and location.
Title of Website. Web. Date of access.
Goya, Francisco. The Family of Charles IV. 1800. Museo Nacional del Prado,
Madrid. Museo National del Prado. Web. 22 May 2006.
11. Work in an Anthology or Chapter in a Book with an Editor (i.e. your textbook):
Author. “Title of Chapter or Selection.” Title of Anthology. Editors. Place of
publication: Publisher, Date of Publication. Page numbers. Print.
Komunyakaa, Yusef. “Facing It.” The Seagull Reader. Ed. Joseph Kelley.
New York: Norton, 2000. 126-127. Print.
12. Song
Artist Name. "Song Title." Album Name. Location of recording, date recorded.
Medium (LP, CD, MP3).
Bartoli, Ceclia. "Quel chiaro rio." Dreams and Fables. London, 2001. CD.
*If your song comes from the web, include the title of the website,
medium of publication (Web), and date of access at the end of the citation.*
13. A Digital File:
Author. "Title of Document." Title of source. Place of Publication: Publisher,
date of publication. File type (PDF, mp3, etc.)
Cortex, Juan. "Border Crossing in the Chicano Narrative." Our Cultural
Commonwealth. NewYork: ALCS, 2006. PDF File.
14. Online Video
Author’s Name or Poster’s Username. “Title of Image or Video.” Media Type
Text. Name of Website. Name of Website’s Publisher, date of posting. Medium.
date retrieved.
Shimabukuro, Jake. "Ukulele Weeps by Jake Shimabukuro." Online video clip.
YouTube. YouTube, 22 Apr. 2006. Web. 9 Sept. 2010.
